Atypical Mom

One of my favorite bloggers, Jenny aka “The Bloggess” (don’t even bother clicking on the link unless you have a sense of humor) was recently ranked among Babble’s Top 50 Mom Blogger list this year. Babble was a site I’d never heard of until last week, so I had to go check it out. I spent the rest of the weekend reading all kinds of mommy blogs. What did I find? I found all these women who apparently have lives… or rather their kids have lives and they just blog about them. I also found, that in comparison, I must be the worst mom in the world.

I’m beginning to wonder if I should just start making stuff up. Don’t worry, I won’t. But after visiting some of these blogs, I wonder if it would make a difference in my blog stats. I have never been part of that whole “mommy” crowd. Maybe it’s because my parents were divorced when I was eight and my dad ended up having to raise four girls on his own. Maybe it’s because I really didn’t have that motherly figure in my life to “show me the way”.

Lord knows I tried to emulate what I thought to be a good mom on TV, after I started having kids of my own, but lets be truthful here, I didn’t do a very good job at it.

Sewing

Puh-leeez. There’s no room in our house for an actual sewing machine. We’ve got too many electronic stuff to make room for. If I’m faced with the task of having to hem something up, I cheat half the time, by using that double sided bondable tape stuff then tack it just enough places or take it to the tailor shop. Yeah, I know how to sew, but who wants to take the time to do it? Not me. If I could get away with simply duct taping it, I would. Now that I think about it, is there such a thing as double-sided duct tape? [Googling…] Yes! There is double-sided duct tape! What will those duct tape guys think of next?

Who’s Rachael Ray?

I love cooking (and I’m good at it too)… when I’ve got the money for all the ingredients, and a big enough kitchen (you can only fit one person at a time in our small kitchen). Often times, cooking around here translates to “how long do I have to put it in the microwave?” or “Let’s just pick something up”. Even in our tiny kitchen, I would attempt to cook these grand meals… if everyone would agree that fish is a meat and vegetables should be included in every meal. Unfortunately, they don’t. Yeah, I gave up my dream of being on becoming the next Rachael Ray long ago. But I know “I coulda had class. I coulda been a contender. I coulda been somebody.” or at least I could’ve had a better sounding voice on television.

Extracurricular Activities

Pffft. When I was a single mom, I couldn’t afford the uniforms for my oldest two kids, not to mention the extra money for gas to go back and forth to games. I put my oldest daughter in tap/ballet classes once – that lasted about two months because I got a shut-off notice from the electric company it was so expensive.

Now that I can afford all those things, my youngest hates sports after having his hand stepped on during a football practice. There’s nothing like arguing with your kid in the parking lot, as you’re trying to force help him into his jersey and helmet. He won. We left. And he never played football again. I’m crossing my fingers for baseball next year though.

Homework/Tutoring

This, I can proudly say is something I’ve gotten better at over the years. But then again, my youngest is a brainiac anyway, so really I guess I don’t get credit for that. Damn.

I’ve made a lot of mistakes, and still making more everyday. I’m getting better at this mommy thing, but I’m afraid that, by the time I know what I’m doing, all the kids will be out of the house. Crap. I’ve only got one kid left and only eight more years to get it right.

7 thoughts on “Atypical Mom

  1. I live in a small area and I don’t really fit in with the whole “mom crowd” either. I guess that’s because I don’t have much in common with them. I’m a rock-concert-goin-video-game-playin kinda girl and most of them just are too busy gossiping about everyone to do anything else LOL. I gave up a long time ago trying to fit in with any of them.
    Oh and my kids don’t really care that much for sports either. That’s fine by me though b/c we have plenty of time to do other things like go to the science museum or zoo on the weekends instead of sitting at a sports event all day on Sat.

  2. Oh, Annie! Honey, STOP comparing yourself to other people. You are NOT them — nor are they YOU! There is not another person on earth just like you anywhere — and I’m glad. Because I love YOU! YOU are special. You have your own unique way of seeing things and doing things and that is a GOOD thing. As long as your kids have a sense of self-worth and don’t kill, steal or run around naked in the streets, you did okay. Unfortunately, I didn’t do a very good job as a mom either, so I can’t give you any real pointers on anything to “improve” upon. You are doing what God made you to do and that’s good enough. You give it your best effort and that’s enough for God, so let it be enough for you, too. Besides, who am I to tell ANYONE how to be a “better” mom??? I’m proud of you if that matters any.

    • Spoken like a true Aunt. Oh I’m not going to be making any kind major changes. I won’t turn into supermom overnight, I’m sure.

      I’ve dared… even offered $20 to Jacob, if he’d drop his pants and start dancing in the isle at the restaurant. Is that bad? lol 😀

      Of course, he didn’t do it. But that’s because kids suck and they’re no fun. That’ll probably be the topic of my next post.

      • And did it scar him for life??? Probably not. I’m sure every mother has done things she wished later that she hadn’t — I know I did. Like I said, if your kids don’t steal, murder or run through the streets naked (and that last is even debatable), then you’re okay. Families learn by DOING. The only instruction manual we come with is the Bible — and most of us don’t really read instructions anyway. We learn by doing. Sometimes we mess up and just say “well, I won’t do THAT again”. I think it’s part of God’s marvelous plan. How else are we going to learn the lessons we came into life to learn? Actually, kids are a lot of fun when you look at it that way, but I have to admit being responsible for the little “darlings” can be a real chore for us grownups (who aren’t really, but age says we are). You don’t have to BE supermom! I like you better this way, and I’m sure God does too.

  3. I went through the same things, single mom..had three jobs, no time and not enough money. My oldest got the crap end of the stick, but now my other two can do whatever they choose. My son is good at basketball, so we are doing all that we can to encourage it. My middle daughter will get the sweet sixteen birthday party. My oldest is resentful, but at 19 she can have a life of her own. I can’t sew either, that is what my mom does well. I am waiting for a grandchild to spoil and do things for, isn’t that what is supposed to happen? Grandparents get to make up for making their kids lives suck?

Leave a Reply

