What’s This? A Recipe for Lumpia?!

Finger foods are the best, aren’t they? My momma adds lumpia to Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners, so this time of year always makes me start craving lumpia. I may only be able to remember a few phrases in Tagalog, but I can certainly remember how to make me some yummy Filipino food.

I am giving you my own recipe for lumpia. If you’ve never tried lumpia, try this recipe. It’s quick and easy and sure to be a hit around your house like it is at mine. I love pansit or chicken adobo, but lumpia is my favorite Filipino dish.

Yes, these are fattening and totally loaded with sodium. And no, I don’t care. I’d bet you won’t either once you try them.

_______________________

Here’s what you’ll need for this recipe:

  • 1lb. ground pork
  • 1lb. ground beef
  • 2 TBS. soy sauce (I use Kikkoman, but whatever. And low sodium if you can find it)
  • 2 TBS. Tabasco soy sauce – Spicy (shhh… this is my secret ingredient)
  • 3 TBS. cilantro, chopped finely
  • 1 TBS. minced garlic (or 5 small cloves)
  • 1 tsp. salt (optional – there’s a whole lot of salt in the soy sauce)
  • 1 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup carrots, shredded/grated
  • 1/2 cup celery, chopped (about 2 stalks)
  • 1/2 cup onions, chopped (I use scallions, but whatever)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • Spring roll or lumpia wrappers
  • Small bowl of water for sealing the edges with your fingers or a brush.

Do not… I repeat. Do NOT use egg roll wrappers. They are too thick. You can usually find wrappers in the frozen food section and sometimes, the package will even say “lumpia” on them. That is, unless you live in the middle of nowhere, in which case you’ll have to make your own wrappers or order them online.

  1. Wash your hands!!
  2. Mix all ingredients together in a big bowl. Don’t be afraid to get your hands in there.
  3. Let the mixture marinate for about an hour in the refrigerator and take the wrappers out of the freezer to thaw.
  4. Cook mixture in a 12″ skillet, breaking up as much of the meat as you can so there aren’t any big chunks. Drain the fat.
  5. Separate one wrap (make sure you just get one wrap – they’re really thin) and lay it flat.
  6. Place about 2 tablespoons of the mixture just below the middle of the wrap in a horizontal line, leaving a space of about an inch away from the edge of the corners.
  7. Take the bottom of your wrap and start rolling. Once you get to the center of the wrap, wet the left and right edges of the wrap with water and fold in to form an envelope.
  8. Continue rolling and set aside until you’ve got them all done.
  9. Deep-fry them in a skillet of canola or vegetable oil at about 350° (be sure not to crowd them (fry 4 or 5 at a time)) until golden brown (about a minute on each side).
  10. Place them on a plate lined with paper towels.

Let them cool for a minute or so before serving. I’ve heard that you can freeze these up to 6 months, although I’ve never seen them last that long. Enjoy!

*This recipe makes about 30 lumpia rolls.

_______________________

You can create lots of variations for this recipe. Change the meat from pork or beef to turkey or even italian sausage. Try different veggies. I’ve even seen lumpia filled with bananas and coconuts/chocolate/caramel, then sprinkled with powdered sugar, and served as a dessert.

Here are some suggestions for ingredients:

  • italian sausage (or even turkey)
  • shrimp
  • cabbage
  • water chestnuts
  • bean sprouts
  • corn
  • bell peppers
  • ginger
  • peas

I’m sorry to say, my picture doesn’t do it justice. It came out a little fuzzy and I only took the one pic. I’m lazy that way.

Have you had lumpia before? Did you try this recipe? What did you do differently? And more importantly, did you like it?

©Marianne Hartsfield 2010
7 thoughts on “What’s This? A Recipe for Lumpia?!

  1. Oh my GOD… I LOVE Lumpia! Thanks for sharing the recipe and the variations. I don’t eat pork any more (except for a bite of sausage once in a long while) so having that turkey sausage suggestion is great.

    Cheers!

  2. I have had Lumpia before. I never knew its name though. I always knew it as the yummy filipino eggrolls that my friends friend would always bring to her parties. Now I have the technology to make my own. Thanks for the recipe!

  3. Hi, Annie! I’ve never tried this but I’m going to add this recipe to my “Must Try” recipes. I LOVE egg rolls and this sounds like it will taste good, too. Not too sure about the Tabasco Sauce part of it, but I’ll try anything once. I’m not like your dad when it comes to the hot stuff. For him, the hotter the better, but for me a little goes a LOOONG way. I’ll let you know when I try these. You’ve piqued my interest anyway.

    • Oh make sure you use Tabasco Soy Sauce, and not the plain Tabasco Sauce or it will be too spicy for ya. lol Tabasco’s Spicy Soy Sauce is some good stuff! It’s got just the right amount of kick. It’s a staple in our house now.

      • Thanks, Annie. I noticed after I had sent that reply that it said Tabasco SOY sauce. I had missed that. I’m glad you pointed it out though, because I would probably have made that blunder. I haven’t tried it yet, but I printed out the whole recipe and I’m going to try it soon. Love you!

Leave a Reply

