The Human Experience – The Money Tree

Daddy said it more times than I can count, “Money doesn’t grow on trees” or something like “Sure, let me just go pick the money tree out back.”

What if you saw a money tree while walking through town? Would you think it was a fake? Maybe some kind of promotion? Would you take from it or leave it alone? Do you think you’d even notice it?

Find out what happened when 100 dollar bills were clipped to and left in a tree in Chicago.

I was amazed how many people simply didn’t notice it. I’d be the first one to say “Oh, I’d notice money hanging off a tree”, but after watching this video I wonder if I would. Are we so busy in our lives – so wrapped up in what we’re doing – that we wouldn’t notice something so out-of-the-ordinary?

Or maybe you’ve even missed something that was there all along like I did…

_______________________

My youngest son was boasting about how his school had purchased a spot on the billboard right next to our house, saying “Go Tigers” or something like that, in support of his schools football team.

Now, we’ve lived in this house for just over a year.  “There’s no billboard next to the house little man. What are you talking about?” I asked him.

He kept insisting there was, so I asked him to point it out to me the next time we left the house.

Sure enough, there it was, not even 1/4 of a mile away from our front door. Now how did I not notice this sign before?

_______________________

Take your time this week and soak in your surroundings. You might be surprised.

7 thoughts on “The Human Experience – The Money Tree

  1. When people become insulated and desensitized it makes them less observant. I was able to capitalize on my skills as an observer in my former career to write detailed reports and never lost a case in court. Before long other officers were asking me to write their reports for them. Being observant can also keep you from being a victim. On another subject, my son is also very observant …but when he walks through the house he never seems to notice trash on the floor or laundry laying in his room, dishes in the sink…hmmmm….

      • sadly, no I don’t..my husband is a neat freak because of the Army and his parents. He cannot pass a dirty dish without washing it and he makes the bed, no matter what. yes, i know..i am lucky. It makes up for having kids who are slobs.

        • Okay. That’s just wrong. What happened to Kim? He says his mom was a neat freak. He was in the military. He leaves dishes all over the house. He’s never made the bed. He’d be the first one to admit his lazy. I’ll trade ya for a couple of weeks. 🙂

          • lol..no way lady. I don’t know about Kim..he was probably like my dad and had his momma do everything for him…it must have something to do with childhood development. You have married a messy child and I am sorry… 😉

  2. I didn’t watch the video since internet in the hotel is sporadic, but I tell you this: If I’d seen this tree, I would have grabbed a chainsaw and taken it home, tried to find me some damned seeds. 🙂

  3. Good story, Annie! Wayne and I have had this discussion a bunch of times. It’s amazing how many of us don’t see what is right in front of us. I’m as guilty of it as he is. So don’t feel too bad about not seeing the billboard — I had to go look at my car one day to be sure there really IS a pinstripe down the middle of the length of the whole car. It’s tiny and there are actually two of them on each side of the car, but I had owned the car a year before I consciously processed that fact. The car is a royal blue Monte Carlo so the white pinstripes stand out — but I never paid any attention to them. Go figure!

Leave a Reply

