What I Did This Summer

Imagine your back in the 5th grade and the school year has just started.  Your Mrs. Normile asks everyone to take out a piece of paper and have pencils in hand, then gives you your first assignment – a two-page essay on “What I Did This Summer”. You let out a deep groan along with everyone else in the classroom, except for that girl with the blonde, braided, ponytails, who has already annoyed you with her bubbly, in-your-face, personality.

Another deep sigh, letting the reality that summer is over and you write your title. Okay. Now what? What’s the most memorable event of the summer that flashes through your mind? Maybe that family vacation trip to New Mexico?  Or was it waiting in the emergency room, waiting for someone to put your arm back in place after that bad spill on the skateboard? Perhaps it was just hanging out with friends or family.

When I started asking myself the same question, I thought “Crap, I didn’t do anything this summer”. But that’s not true at all. My summer started out with a long road trip to Virginia to see old family, friends, and to meet my granddaughter for the first time. It was great catching up with everyone – some I hadn’t seen in over ten years.

A couple more road trips followed including two or three to Arkansas, a couple of trips to Tennessee and one to the beach. My ten year old hadn’t been to the beach since we moved from Hawaii when he was still in diapers, so it was exciting to see his reaction to the whole ocean scene.

Then there was my own road trip to Arkansas, to get away from the house and have some alone time.  I was able to catch up with an old friend and do some major shopping.

The big family trip I had planned fell through after my daughter’s schedule got in the way.  But that was fine…great even, because it meant she was finally taking care of things.  And within a month, she had finished taking all of her classes, took her GED and passed, and joined the Job Corps and was moved out of the house.

We also got a new kitten, who we still haven’t named, but call her kitty all the time. I saw a bunch of movies this summer. Oh, and I started going back to the gym.

Summer’s over for our family, since Jacob is back in school Friday.  Soon, I’ll be enjoying cooler weather, sweaters, Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. Aaahhh. I can hardly wait. I want to know what you did this summer. How did you spend it? Where did you go? What did you do? What memory will define this summer for you?

10 thoughts on “What I Did This Summer

  1. Unfortunately, for us the summer started with Tarah losing her father after a heartbreaking battle for his life. We were able to take a road trip to Texas to see the whole family on both sides, which was long overdue. I came back with a three month long sinus infection from hell. Our annual canoe trip left me burned, and Darren with a sprained foot and ankle. My daughter acquired a new python. My oldest moved out. My youngest is now taller than me. I am rounding out the summer with a trip to the dentist that I dread. So, it was not a great time had by all. My son got to go to Florida, so that was nice. I have lost twenty six pounds altogether, so there’s that… I will trade you!

    • I’m sorry for Tarah’s (and your) loss. Kim talked about him quite a bit and I know it was hard on him. I can’t imagine how hard it must’ve been for your daughter to deal with. 😦

      You really did have a lot going on this summer. A python? Why on earth would anyone want a python? lol Sinus infections suck…and sunburns really suck, but probably worst of all is having to go to the dentist.

      26lbs.!!! That’s an awesome achievement!! congratulations!

      I would only trade the 26lb. part. Thanks. lol

      • She is dealing with it, but still having some rough nightmares. Her father and I had a python named Doc Holliday when she was born and she remembers it well. It is a cool pet, no smell and little upkeep. It is very laid-back and keeps her interest and distracts her. His name is “Nix.” He feels like an expensive pair of shoes… I am past the sunburn and peeling, my sinuses are back to normal, and the 31st is my day of dental work. I opted for the conscious sedation, so I have that to look forward to..plus the fact I won’t be able to eat much for a week (more weight loss..yesss!). Thanks for the encouragement, I am still working on it. I am thinking about doing my Jillian 30 day shred. We shall see..

        • I’m so glad to hear that you’re finally peeling. I have never gone under at the dentist, but definitely would if it ever came down to it. Let me know how that goes.

          Kim would tell you that a few weeks after we started dating, he had to go in and have all of his wisdom teeth pulled at once. And that I made him go see the Titanic with me later on that same day. lol

          I have Jillian’s 30-day Shred. I’ve tried it a couple of times. Sure does look easy and is soooo NOT. Maybe I’ll bring that DVD out sometime this week and see how long I can keep up these days.

          • Wow! You had him hooked woman! My husband is planning to babysit me and has told the kids that they should prepare for the worst when I come out of the sedation…lol.. I am about to pop in that video now..when I recover I will let you know how i did

  2. The highlight of my summer was visiting my oldest brother, Bill (Virgil to most of the family, but always Bill to me) in Stillwater, Oklahoma and seeing his new house and catching up after years of being apart and only talking on the phone when we had time. There were a few Saturdays with my hubby just driving around locally looking at the scenery and enjoying each others company. And there were the three times I went and picked blueberries at a friend’s farm here in our area. The last time it was HOT and I got overheated and made myself sick, but the blueberries were worth it! I still have some of them and they taste wonderful on my breakfast cereal. I did take a couple of trips to the temple in Oklahoma City and that was exciting for me. I went with church friends and we made it a real outing for all of us. Other than that, I’ve spent most of my time in the house under the air conditioner because, Folks, it’s been HOT in my neck of the woods! I know it’s dull compared to your summer, Annie, but I enjoyed it and I AM older than you, so it’s okay for me to take it easier! LOL

    • I remember him as Uncle Bill. 🙂 I’m pretty sure he came to stay with us for a little bit, when we lived in VA. Anyway, I’m glad you guys got a chance to catch up. Ya know, the last time I saw Rosanna was in 2008. I haven’t seen Ivana since ’98 and Michelle, even longer than that! It’s so weird.

      Freshly picked blueberries – yummy. 🙂 I’ve tried to spend as much of my time in A/C myself. I am not a fan of heat – especially heat and humidity combined. Yuck!

Leave a Reply

