A Better Me – Week Six

I’m late in posting this blog. All day, I thought it was Sunday. I do have some good news though. I’ve lost one little pound this week. One precious pound. It may not seem like much, but it is to me. Any time I see the scale go down, I make sure I get the same results for two days in a row before I really count it. I was curious and jumped on the scale Tuesday and when I looked, the scale actually showed three pounds lost. I checked again Wednesday, and the scale jumped up by two pounds, leaving the one precious little pound. Then I found out why the three-pound loss didn’t stick. Mother nature came to visit me the same day. At least I saw a glimpse of what this coming week might be like.

Emotionally

I felt much better this past week. I even managed to talk myself into getting to the gym during daylight hours. I’m going to try for that all this week too. I’ve always been somewhat of a night owl. I have really got to change that.

While I will admit that I still haven’t taken any measurements, I will say that since I felt like I had lost an inch or two, I dared to try on some of my old clothes. Guess what!  They fit. Yep. I spent two hours just trying on old clothes. Some of them weren’t really that old. They were clothes I purchased just before we moved to Mississippi and I started gaining all the weight back. It sure does feel good to be back on track. 🙂

Physically

I met my calorie-burn goal of 1550 this week. Barely. I’m sure I would’ve burned more if the boys hadn’t left for the weekend. I’m anxious to get back into the swing of things this week.

Working Out

Oh yeah.  Guess what else I did?  Fifty minutes on the elliptical. It felt good too. However, I am starting to notice that instead of burning something like 500 calories for 50 minutes, I only burned 480 calories. In fact, I found the same to be true while I was on the treadmill. The good news is that my heart rate is still within my zone. Pretty soon though, I know I’ll either have to increase the speed or intensity of workouts or maybe even have to work out for longer periods.

Eating Right

My favorite food this week:  Lean Cuisine’s, Steam Fresh, Garlic Chicken. They’re new and really, really good. Go try it if you haven’t already and let me know what you think.

This Weeks Goals

– Continue to take supplements

– Continue to put in 50 minutes on the elliptical

– Take measurements and record them all

– Familiarize myself with the machines again

So one more pound gone and hopefully, by the end of the week, an additional two pounds. So far, a total of six pounds lost. That’s it for week six. I’m moving forward. Thanks for keeping up with me. :)

Image credit: iStockphoto
7 thoughts on “A Better Me – Week Six

  1. Annie, FYI, for sunburns, you first bathe in vinegar water (1/2 cup brown vinegar to your bathwater) and then you rub on aloe vera or Noxema — both work, but aloe vera is better. The vinegar takes a lot of the sting out of the burn. Now — back to you! I AM SO PROUD OF YOU!!!!!!!!! Six pounds in six weeks is nothing to sneeze at! You are doing great, so keep up the good work. You know I’m living vicariously through you, don’t you? I would be doing what you are doing if I thought it would work for me and I was physically able to, but since I can’t, I can at least cheer you on and be happy and proud for you. Hang in there, Annie, you’re doing really well!

    • I knew there was something missing with the sunburn thing. 🙂

      Vicariously through me? lol Now that’s funny. I know you would be doing this with me if you could physically. I’m just glad you’re with me here. Thanks.

  2. That is great work! I went to the Buffalo River with the family and got sunburned..yep, used SPF 60 and still I cannot move. I scream when my own clothes rub against me. Hopefully I will get back on track, I am afraid to get on the scale right now. In a few weeks I have to put on my bathing suit and go back to the Buffalo with my husband and all his friends. Why would I do this to myself? I have ducked this annual trip for three years, now I have no excuses left. I will be the heaviest female there, so that sucks. I pray I do not get sunburned again, and that I can drink enough beer to forget I am even there. Wish me luck! You are doing fabulous dah-ling!

    • Oh, what I would give to be able to spend even a weekend on the Buffalo with the family. I know they would have fun, if they would get off their butts. It’s too bad about the sunburn. I’m sure you’ll be back on track in no time. I don’t get sunburn much, as I really don’t spend much time out in the sun anymore. But when I did, I always kept Noxema and some Aloe Vera around to soothe the pain. Maybe it’ll help. I forget what you’re supposed to do for sunburns.

      Don’t duck the trip girlie! Even if you are the heaviest there, I’m sure you’ll have a blast. Besides, I have to live vicariously through all my friends ya know. 😉

      • I hear ya, but I think this burn will keep me from going. I did have a hell of a time and it was nice that my kids were old enough to be in their own canoe (a.k.a. a half mile away from us at all times). I may send Darren with his friends and take the kids to the drive-in for a double feature (no sunlight!). I will try the vinegar, but putting aloe on involves touching it..NOOOOOO!!!
        Make Kim get off his butt! Camping, fire, roasted marshmallows…tell him it is research for a module! HAH!

        • It’s too bad you won’t be going. You look like you’ve got pretty fair skin. I can only imagine how much it hurts.

          Kim and I looked up drive-ins around here. The closest one we could find is about a 4hr. drive away. That may be good for a road trip one weekend. But Kim go camping?! HA! Maybe the Kim you knew back in the day. Definitely not the Kim I married. 😦 I kinda wish I knew him back when you did.

          • I am sure he is the same minus the constant stream of beer..we were always laughing, that’s for sure..Kim, Chuck, Petty & Ledbetter were a comedy group for me. There were a lot of moments for some of us girls that were rough to get through and without Kim we would have cried instead of laughed. My second marriage might never have dissolved if he had stuck around. On second thought, that was a good thing 😉 Don’t feel bad, the only camping I can remember Kim doing was on our couches. HAHA

Leave a Reply

