A New Me – Week Two

This week was both good and bad.  First, let me say that I’ve finally gotten over this whole fear of my going to the gym, but it didn’t start out great.  Monday night, I drove to the gym and sat in the parking lot scoping the place out.  I noticed there were two women on treadmills and a third on the elliptical.  So I decided to just put my earbuds in and go for it.  I had forgotten how different it was to be on the treadmill than on a track.  The track is full of bumps and little dips.  The treadmill is so much easier to walk or run on.  So I was on the treadmill for an hour, changing the incline and speed I was going at.  It felt really good.

Now, if you’ve ever been to a gym, then you know that you’re supposed to wipe the machine down after you use it.  I went to grab the sanitizer and noticed that the towel dispenser was empty so I had to go looking for another towel dispenser.  I started to ask a woman that sitting at the table next to the entrance, but before I could even finish my sentence she said “Wow, now that’s a workout!” and smiled at me.  She points to another dispenser and I walked towards it where there are two other women standing there.  Well, one of them was a woman, the other still a girl – probably 14 or 15yrs. old.  Just as I walk by the two of them, the woman says to me “How long were you on that thing?”.  I tell her I was on there for an hour and the girl says “Wow, I was on there for about that long and I didn’t sweat like that”.  Pffft!  I saw this girl on there for about five minutes.  She was barely walking at all on the thing and she’s 15!  Not to mention that she was probably all of about 90lbs.  I wanted to smack her.  Instead I just smiled, grabbed the towels I needed and walked away.  Later, I thought about what I should’ve said – “Yeah, try gaining 50lbs., not exercising, and being 40yrs. old, then let’s see you do that and not break into a sweat”.

So anyway, that’s my story for the week.  I sweat.  A lot.  I’m a sweater.  Okay?  Sheesh.

Emotionally

Yayee for me for getting over the whole gym thing.  And just in time too.  There’s no way I would be able to get in any kind of  cardio at the lake with this heat.  Now that I’m able to get myself to the gym.  I don’t mind becoming a regular over there.  I have gotten to the point where I am starting to look forward to working out.  I think of it as a great way to get away from the family and let myself enjoy some of my favorite tunes.  I may start timing my workouts so they coincide with a TV show or two during the week.  I used to watch Lost that way, a few years back.  I remember telling myself that if I wanted to see Lost, I had to get to the gym on time.  And when I lived in Arkansas, I would get to the gym just in time to see the last 10 minutes of Ellen, then watch the news.  I never understood how anyone could read while they were on the treadmill or on the bike.

Physically

Since I am a woman, I still have to deal with that whole mother nature thing.  Some months are better than others.  This month has been excruciating.  I had to stay home Wednesday night because of it.  I’m feeling much better now and am happy to say that I only missed going to the gym Tuesday and Wednesday.  I’ve been every other day this week.  Unfortunately, this always mean a weight gain (4-5lbs.) for me.  As it stands right now, I’ve gained a pound since my last weigh-in.

Working Out

I surpassed my exercise goals for the week and that feels good.  My goal was to burn 1,550 calories.  I actually burned 2,813 this week.  Even though I took off Tuesday and Wednesday, I still managed to get in my 4 workouts this week.  I’m happy about that. 🙂

I caught myself practically feeling myself up while working out.  It’s kind of cool to feel my muscles tighten up while I’m walking.  I can even feel my butt getting hard too.  So yeah.  If you’re at the gym with me, you might catch me feeling my butt while I’m on the treadmill, or my upper thighs while I’m on the bike.  Leave me alone.

Eating Right

Last week, my biggest problem was cutting down on all the fat I’m taking in…and remembering to eat.  I doing much better with the fat intake, but I’m still not eating as much or as often as I should.  I have my phone with me all the time and I have set up alarms to remind me.  The alarm goes off and I dismiss it.  Then I forget anyway.  I’m up for suggestions on that.

This week’s goals for me:

– eat more often

– keep up with my 4 workouts a week

– get back on the elliptical!!

How

– Like I said, I’m up for suggestions on ways to get me to eat more often.  I’ll make more of an effort not to dismiss my alarms when they go off.

– Continuing to workout the way I did this week, with the addition of …

– Getting back on the elliptical!  The elliptical and I have a love/hate relationship.  I love the fact that I can burn so much more calories in less time than being on the treadmill.  I hate the fact that the damn thing makes me feel like I got kicked by a mule over and over.  I’ll start out slow – 10minutes on the elliptical each session this week.

That’s it for this week.  I’ve gained one pound since my last weigh-in, but I really think that’s due to mother nature.  I won’t be surprised if I see a 3lb. drop next week.  Thanks for keeping up with me. 🙂

5 thoughts on “A New Me – Week Two

  1. LOL! I have been doing three miles every day on that treadmill. I have the thirty day shred, which I accomplished all of one time. I have the ball, weights, mat, those stretchy cord things, jumprope, and a stationary bike, etc. Yep, got all that….hmmm…yeah.

  2. Hi, Annie. First, let me say I am SO PROUD of you for sticking with it! Second, let me remind you that muscle is heavier than fat. You are burning off fat and developing muscle, so gaining a pound does NOT mean you actually GAINED any inches. Muscle is by nature leaner than fat. So while you may have gained a pound of weight, you may actually have lost inches and that is your goal. My doctor told me not to worry about gaining a pound or two when I was working out (25 years ago) for that reason. So hang in there and keep doing what you are doing. Soon you’ll be losing more fat than you are gaining muscle and that’s when the pounds will start falling off. I love you, Annie, and I am really proud of you for what you are doing for yourself. Keep up the good work!

  3. You are very brave. I hated, okay despised, the gym. I love my treadmill and I watch Jillian’s show and The Biggest Loser to keep me on there for hours. If they can do it, I have no excuse. As far as eating, I have trouble remembering that too. My husband texts me to see if I have done what I am supposed to do. I can see the ignoring thing happening, but I also write down what I eat. I am no help, sorry. I have lost twenty one pounds since I started trying last year. I still have twenty to go. My biggest problem is giving up when I do not see results. Plus food is good, sooooo goood. Oh well, time to get on my treadmill. Bathing suits are unforgiving.

    • HA! I don’t know if bravery has anything to do with it, but thanks. 🙂 I love Jillian too. In fact, I’ve got one of her dvd’s (can’t remember which one right now). I’ve used it a couple of times, and it is quite the workout! But I’m one of those type of people that have to go somewhere. It has to be separate from the house. I have weights and a jump rope (which I may actually do today – sounds like fun), and an exercise ball, and a couple of other things here at the house that just sit here. You get on that treadmill lady! 😀

Leave a Reply

