A New Me – Week One

My first update since I got back on track.  I do all my logging in and tracking on My Fitness Pal.  I’ve been a member for a couple of years now.  I used to be very active in the forums, especially during that first year I did lose a good amount of weight.  I rarely check them out anymore, but if you’re over there and decide to register, look me up.  My screen name is OomarianneoO.  MFP is the best free site I’ve come across with all the tools to help me, plus the folks over there are awesome.

Emotionally

I’m feeling better, but I still need to get over my whole thing about going to the gym.

Physically

Well, I’m really not feeling much change.  I know that’s because I haven’t been giving it my all.  I’ve been working out, just to be working out.  It’s been kind of forced, but I know from past experience that once I’ve been working out for a couple of weeks, it won’t be so forced and I’ll start looking forward to going.

Working Out

I changed my exercise goals – I pretty much let MFP plan that out for me. I just changed my goals to:

Calories Burned / Week  –  1,550 Calories/week
Workouts / Week  –  4 Workouts
Minutes / Workout  –  60 Minutes

It was something like 1100 calories to burn a week and only 3 workouts when I first started and trying to work my way up.

I’m not doing my best with the workouts yet. Mostly because I still can’t stand the thought of going to the gym with everyone there.  It was different at my last gym – there were all body types going and no one cared.  But out here, if you’re going to the gym, you’re already fit.  It doesn’t help that most of the people I’ve seen at this new gym are all guys…and buff at that.

Being able to go to the lake is great, but it’s just way too hot now for that. The lake is open from 7am – 10pm and even early in the morning, it is too hot with all the steam coming off the lake.  Yuck.  At least I am getting some workout time in and have been meeting the goal there.

Eating Right

Right now, my biggest problem is cutting down on all the fat I’m taking in…and remembering to eat.  I used to be really good with the eats, especially while I was working.  Everything was set –

8am get to work…eat.
10am take a break…eat.
12pm lunch…eat.
3pm take another break…eat.
4:30pm get off work and go to the gym
6pm get home…eat
8pm…last time to eat.

It was so easy.  Now, everything (time) runs together.   There are really no breaks.  I need to work on that.

This week’s goals for me:

– cut down on the fat intake
– eat more often
– get in one more workout

How

– I went to the grocery store last night and stocked up on some of my meals so it will be easier for me to keep track of the fat.  I used – and need to get back into – make it a habit to prepare all my meals/snacks on Sundays and have it all laid out for the week.  Pop open the fridge, grab the food for the day and head out.  Or in this case, grab a meal when my alarm goes off.

– I’ll set my phone alarm to go off when I need to eat so I don’t forget.

– Working out every other day – period.  That should be good for now.  Right now, I need to focus on cardio, cardio, and more cardio.  I may think about going to the gym twice a day (once in the morning and once in the evening) later.  But that will mean a lot more food I have to eat too.

There ya go.  So far, I’ve lost two pounds.  That’s it, but I’m happy with that.  I don’t expect to lose more than two pounds per week.  I am going to try and post updates weekly.  Not so much for anyone to follow, but for me to keep track and just have it out there.  While I’m writing it all down, it gives me a chance to reflect on what I’ve been doing and what I need to be doing. 🙂

4 thoughts on “A New Me – Week One

  1. Excellent! The journey of a thousand miles begins with the first step. Way to go!

    I know it’s tough, but we all started somewhere. For me, all my previous attempts were just practice runs for what I’m doing now. Part of my success is knowing that people are watching and following my progress, as we will with you.

    In the end, know you are not alone and we’re here rooting for you. Cheers!

  2. Annie, I am SO proud of you! You have set a goal and you’re doing something constructive to reach it. That is an accomplishment all by itself! Hang in there and keep at it. I know you can do it. Better for you to do it now while you’re relatively young than to wait and TRY to do it when you’re my age and have lost all incentive. You’ll feel a whole lot better physically, mentally and spiritually. I wish I had that much willpower, but I will cheer you on all the way! Love you, Kiddo.

Leave a Reply

