Stuck Somewhere In The Middle… Of Nowhere

I’ve become an avid blog reader.  Unfortunately, all this blog reading has distracted me from actually blogging myself.  Ironically, about 40% of the RSS feeds I receive are from bloggers blogging about blogging.  What does all of this mean?  Where is this going?  Basically, it means I’m a wannabe blogger and I’m going nowhere.  As with anything in my life and as it’s always been for me, I feel as though I have to be some kind of sideline expert before I start something.  I know.  It’s ridiculous.  This whole blogging thing was supposed to be a way for me to just jump in blindly and run with it.  Then I made the mistake of reading blogs about blogging and was/am totally intimated.  All of a sudden, I felt like I wasn’t good enough to blog about anything.

Find your niche and  to write what you know. What do I know?  Hell, unless you want to talk about how to create a PDF form, do something in a MS Office Product/Application, or how to manage an office more efficiently (which all makes for boring blog posts), I got nothing to offer.  I’m no expert on anything.

Brand yourself. Branding?  You mean like what they do to a horses ass?  Well, okay.  I guess.  But no one is touching my ass, especially with some hot iron.  I’m just some woman who loves to push the buttons on the keyboard and is still awestruck at how a bunch of little bytes can make things appear on my monitor when I move or click on my mouse.

Monetize your blog. Pffft!  I’m quite sure that’s not something I need to worry myself with right now.  I like a crisp, clean look on my blog anyway.  I hate seeing a ton of ads on my blog.  Lord, help me if I’m ever forced to put some ad about how to whiten your teeth on my blog.  If that ever happens, someone shoot me.

Still, I find myself reading about blogging.  What the hell?  I didn’t even know there was a right or wrong way to blog until I started reading all these blogs about blogging.  Whatever happened to me just jumping in?  I’ve disappointed myself.  No more, or at least this is what I’m telling myself.  So more randomness to come from me, and more often.  And without the thought or worry about following all the rules.

6 thoughts on “Stuck Somewhere In The Middle… Of Nowhere

  1. My first thought that comes to mind after reading your post is you have “Branded yourself” although it may be unknowing. You’re “Brand”, is your personality and style that I get from reading your posts. It is what makes them interesting. Unlike some others that I started reading and stopped because for example they simply give a list of what they were doing without expressing their opinion/feelings. (Note to self: I may be doing this. LOL)

    As for the other stuff you need to ask yourself: Why am I blogging? Do I want to make money doing it? Do I simply do it to express myself?

    Maybe instead of reading blogs about blogging you should spend that time just searching for other type blogs to see what they have done.

    If you ask my opinion I’d say you are already there! I mean you got me hooked.

    As for me I am doing it for both reasons and now it’s a challenge to me to see if I can dos others have done and accomplish making the money and get the hits and maybe learn something things and learn something about myself along the way.

    • You’re right. I do need to find other types of blogs out there, which I’m finding, is harder than I thought it would be. I take that back. It’s easy to find all kinds of blogs out there. It’s hard to find any that hold my attention. I’m always a fan of photo blogs, which is how I think of yours. 🙂

  2. I wouldn’t worry too much about the rules of blogging and just do what you enjoy. Much of the articles I read on blogging assume readers are trying to make money from blogs. Not that I am opposed to making money, but for me the joy is sharing my knowledge with others so that it may help them overcome challenges in their lives.

    For me, I am trying to grow my readership. What can I do to strengthen my blog so that more people will find it, like it, and stay with it. Second, how can I better engage my readers so that my site becomes a learning environment?

    In the end, I take from blog articles that which I deem worthy and useful to my needs.

    I wish you the best of luck with your random, but quite entertaining, entries. 🙂

  3. Yayyyyy for Annie! You DON’T have to be an expert! And you DO know a lot more about a lot of things than you give yourself credit for. You know a LOT about LIFE! You’ve been “around the block” a few times, Kiddo, and you’ve seen things and done things some of us only dream about doing. I ENJOY your little blogs. Most folks are only in it for the money; you, dear, are in for the FUN! Heck, write about writing if that’s what tickles your fancy. Write about your relationships with others — that’s always fun to read and I ENJOY reading your stories. I’m pretty sure other folks do too. So keep on blogging and to heck with the “experts”. What do they know anyway?????

Leave a Reply

