Shopping Lessons Learned And Safety Tips

Yesterday, was my daughters first Black Friday as shopper with her own earned money to spend.  And the first time she realized what Black Friday was all about.  She wanted to go out and how could I say no to that?  A whole day spent shopping with my only daughter.  What was supposed to be a lot of fun, ended up in a loss of my daughters wallet.

Shoppers be aware of what’s going on around you!  My daughter only had about $60 in cash left in her wallet, but she had her sharecheck card along with her ID and some other important personal information in her wallet.  I think a story like this is common and has happened to most people at one point or another in their lives.  It’s happened to me.  Just another one of life’s unfortunate lessons learned.

If you want some great shopping safety tips, click here.

This whole thing with my daughters wallet got me thinking about some of the general shopping mistakes I’ve made in the past.  So I’d like to add to some of the shopping safety tips.  Here are a few off-the-wall, random, general shopping lessons I’ve learned over the years.

  • Never, ever (no matter how aggravated you are) ask for an explanation (loud enough for everyone to hear) from the woman standing in front of you, in the 10 items or less line as to why she thinks she can be in the 10 items or less line, when she clearly has more than 50 items.  She’ll say something like “I’ve waited in other lanes just like everyone else”.  Then you’ll end up saying like “Yeah, but they weren’t in the 10 items or less line, with more than 10 items”.  She’ll just say something like “Why don’t you mind you’re own f@#$%*! business?!” and you’ll say something like “I’m in this line, which makes it my business along with the one, two, three, four…nine others standing behind me”.  Also take note of the fact that she’s barefoot and is more than three times your size.  This is not a good idea.  But then again, watching and listening to an argument start between that woman and the 2nd and 4th women behind you, is kind of funny.
  • Never, ever (no matter how aggravated you are) suggest to the bag checker at the exit doors, that he double-check the merchandise of woman in front of you has, in fact, been paid for.  But then again, watching the expression on the woman’s face as she realizes she will be stuck there for almost as long as she had you waiting in line, is priceless.
  • When going through the drive-thru at the local fast food restaurant only to order a medium-sized soft drink, expect to wait for more than twenty minutes to get to the window.  Do NOT get out of your vehicle.  Do NOT walk up to the vehicle in front of you to voice your disapproval of the woman who just placed seven separate chicken dinners to be paid separately, for not going inside and placing the order.  This is just a dumb idea.  Because what do you do after a few choice words are exchanged and you still have to go back to your car and wait some more anyway?  And consider yourself one lucky bitch if you’re not beaten to a pulp or shot.

Yes.  I am guilty of all the above.  What can I say?  I am usually a very patient person, but I have a very low tolerance for the lack of consideration shown by others.  Unfortunately, something takes over me and I always end up saying something…usually stupid.  Am I the only one that’s done this?  Are there any shopping tips you can add or lessons you’ve learned?

9 thoughts on “Shopping Lessons Learned And Safety Tips

  1. I completely understand. For me it’s elevators. If you see someone with a stroller coming, get your spry twenty-year-old ass on the escalator with all the other people who don’t NEED the elevator.

    • Yep. I know what you mean. This is why I do most of my shopping online now. There’s nothin’ like shopping in the comfort of your own home. 🙂 No crowds. No lines. Nice.

      It’s a shame that my daughter lost out on her new boots too. The money that was left in her wallet was supposed to go toward some new boots.

  2. Oh. My. Gosh! I can’t believe you did that to the woman standing in line! I wish I could have been there – I would have been rolling on the floor!!!!

  3. OK I have a new found respect for you…not only have you become brave enough to put yourself out there in a blog but you can throw down with all the barefoot, no counting, a holes we all really hate! Bravo sis-in-law Bravo.

    • HA! Well, sometimes I just can’t help myself. Looking back on them though…not good moves on my part. And I’m sure I’ll end up doing something like that again. At least it’ll give me something to blog about, right? lol

Leave a Reply

