Another Idea For Using Twitter Lists?

I’ve decided to try out a different way of using the Twitter lists.  If you’re a Twitter fanatic like me, then you probably already know what #FollowFriday or #ff or #FF is.   Follow Friday can hold a different meaning for everyone.  For most, it’s a way of recognizing other tweeps (Twitter users) for information they’ve found useful or entertaining, while also recommending their own followers to check them out.

Twitter has recently added to option of making lists, making it easy for anyone to categorize other tweeps.  What’s cool about this is I don’t even have to be following the person to add them to a listing.  For example, I used to follow Kirstie Alley (@kirstiealley).  After following her for awhile, I found her tweets to be a little obnoxious (sorry Kirstie) at times.  I still want to keep tabs on her since I had already her to my E-news and Celebrities list, I just unfollowed her.  Now, I can check on her whenever I have a minute to spare without having to search for her all over again.

So why am I telling you all this?  Well, today marks the first day of my using a list for #FollowFriday.  Throughout the week, when I come across a really great tweet that someone I follow has already posted, or a new person I find follow-worthy (I think I just made up a word), I add them to my #FollowFriday list for the week.  There are a few reasons why I do this:

  • By the time Friday rolls around,  I may have Forgotten who I wanted to recommend, so I add to the list throughout the week.  I remove everyone from my listing on Sunday morning and start all over again.
  • I don’t understand why anyone would want to just an entire list someone else just made.  I’d much rather people visit the profiles of those I recommend and really check them out, then decide for themselves if they want to follow them or not.  Since my listing changes every week, they kind of have to do just that.  It makes it more personal, I think.
  • Having a list allows me to change the tweeps on the list and share the list weekly with just one tweet.  In my tweet, I’ll let my followers know that the list changes weekly.
  • When visiting the profile of a tweep I’ve recommended, the visitor can look at how this tweep has been listed.  And not just how they are listed by me, but also how others may have them listed.  I think this is cool because it gives the visitor a good idea of what kind of tweets they will get if they start following them.   I rarely have the tweeps I recommend for #FollowFriday listed in just one of my listings.  It’s usually two, sometimes three or more.  If I were to list @HealthyWomen on my #FollowFriday, then people who visit the profile will see that I have @HealthyWomen listed for Womens Issues and Health and Fitness too.
  • Finally, this is an absolute time saver for me.  There are FollowFriday generators out there like The Twitter Tag Project, but it’s automated – not very personal.  And where’s the fun in that?

I’m not sure how this will all work out, but I’m going to try it for a month or so.  What do you think?  Good idea?  Bad idea?  Any suggestions?  My #FollowFriday list is here.  Check it out. ツ

2 thoughts on “Another Idea For Using Twitter Lists?

Leave a Reply

