My Feet Are Cold

It is a chilly 44°F here this morning and my feet are cold. But that’s not really what I’m writing about today. Let me start over. I’ve got cold feet… about having a web presence again. About ten years ago, I was up and coming into the design world and had really done okay with it. I managed to make a profit off of some of my “doodles” and do some freelance web design work too. And, get this…I was even a web site evaluator for an awards site, if you can believe that.

After working from home for awhile and just being a mom, I began to miss not having any adults to play with.  So I went out and got a desk job.  A desk job that had nothing to do with the internet or web design or graphics.  Instead, I was with working with people with disabilities (“handicapped”, by the way, is not politically correct) and then I was promoted to work specifically with those that were in ESRD (end-stage renal disease).  Both of those jobs were rewarding too and I thought I would stick with it.  But things change.  My husband was offered a transfer (not military) and we decided to move.  Now we live in a very small town, with very little job opportunities available.  I decided to take a break from working for a little bit and do some soul searching.  It’s about that time, I guess.  I am reaching forty after all, and isn’t that about the time women are supposed to go through some kind of mid-life crisis anyway?

Now, I find myself really interested in blogging and maybe going back into design again.  Getting back into the world of web and graphic design, while it is a little intimidating, doesn’t bother me so much.  It’s the thought of blogging and keeping up with a blog that scares me half to death.  I’m no writer.  I’d like to become a decent writer.  Of course, in order to become a decent writer, I have to actually start writing about something, don’t I?  What’s funny is that I’ve read more about how to come up with blog content and how to blog better, than I’ve found myself actually blogging.  And every time I read one of these articles or posts, I feel almost like I’m in the gym with Jillian Michaels yelling at me “Unless you puke, faint or die, keep going!”.  And then, I came across this video this morning, asking “What’s Your Blogging VICE?”

Yikes!  Now I feel like someone has invaded my brain or has installed some sort of hidden camera behind me.  So here I am, cold feet and all, and I’m blogging about blogging, or blogging about not blogging, I’m not sure which.  Maybe my next post will be entitled “Writing About Things I Know Nothing About When I Should Probably Write About What I Know“.  So yeah… maybe now I can get back to Twitter?  I don’t think I like Darren Rowse (@problogger) anymore.  Eh, I’ll still follow him but only if he stays out of my head.

Leave a Reply

